Homemade Soda

I am not a huge fan of sweets. Generally, I can take or leave the chocolate, cookies and candy. Do not get me wrong, I like sweet stuff every now and then, just not all the time.

Unless we are talking about soda, or pop, or coke (7up, Coca Cola, Pepsi, Dr. Pepper, Mt. Dew, etc) then you’ll have me every time. I know all the horror stories about how it will eat the finish of cars, and clean pennies. Awesome stuff. 🙂 All around it is my choice of caffeine intake, especially, Dr. Pepper.

When the Soda Stream system came out it absolutely caught my eye. I thought, “OOOOO, I could have soda anytime I want. Budget friendly soda. Fresh soda.” The purchase price, however, is a negative for me. I would rather have an e-reader than a soda machine. So when I realized I could just buy the syrup bottle and add it to club soda I decided to fork out the $5.00 for a bottle and give it a try.

The instructions call for adding one cap full of the syrup to a one liter bottle of their carbonated water. According to the bottle we get a little more than four 8oz glasses of soda out of every cap full of mix, giving us 12.5 bottles of soda or a little over six 2 liter bottles. So ultimately, at standard prices, I don’t believe it is cost effective.

Right now the true benefits I see for the mixes, either with the actual machine or just added to club soda, are their ingredients. If you have a corn allergy or need to watch your sodium these mixes are for you. The ability to add the syrup, at will, to a cup of carbonated water would also be great for families who have varying soda tastes.

Or people living overseas and suffering through Dr. Pepper withdrawals. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

